Community Information Database

Santa Cruz City Council

Add to Personal List || Email Record || Printer Friendly

General Agency Information
Name:Santa Cruz City Council
Address:809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA  95060
Driving Directions
Primary Phone:831-420-5020
Days/Hours of Operation/Phone:Anytime (Answering machine available)
Description:The City of Santa Cruz operates under a Council-Manager form of government. In this system the City Council is the legislative and policy-making body of city government. It sets city policy by passing ordinances and resolutions. The Council determines the city budget, appoints and removes certain appointive officials, and generally oversees city functions.

Election and Terms of Office:
The City Council is composed of six Councilmembers and a Mayor. They are elected at large by city voters and are directly responsible to the people. General municipal elections take place on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November in even-numbered years. Four Councilmembers are elected at one municipal election, and three Councilmembers at the next.

The term of office for a Councilmember is four years and a Councilmember may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms. If a Councilmember does not finish his/her term, the Council can either appoint a registered qualified voter to fill the vacancy until the next general municipal election or call a special election. If a special election is called, the person selected will serve the remainder of the unexpired term.

The Mayor:
Each year, the Council elects one of its members to serve as Mayor for a one-year term. The Mayor presides at all Council Meetings and is recognized as the head of the city government for all ceremonial purposes.

LANGUAGES: Spanish Translator available upon request to City Clerk 5 days prior to meeting.

ELIGIBILITY: The seven members are elected on a non-partisan basis for four-year terms.

AREAS SERVED: City of Santa Cruz
Meetings:2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month, 3pm in the City Council Chambers. Recess at 6pm and reconvene at 7pm with the opportunity of Oral Communications at the beginning of both sessions.
The audio files will be posted following a meeting on the website.
Languages other than English:See Description Notes
Accommodations for Disabled:Parking & Wheelchair Access
Public Transportation:Available Within Four Blocks
Eligibility:See Description Notes
Areas Served:See Description Notes
Physical Location:Santa Cruz

Cynthia   Mathews
Term Expires: 11-2016

Cynthia  Chase
Vice Mayor
Term Expires: 11-2018

Pamela  Comstock
Term Expires: 11-2016

Don  Lane
Term Expires: 11-2016

Richelle Noroyan
Term Expires: 11-2018

Micah  Posner
Term Expires: 11-2016

David Terrazas
Term Expires: 11-2018

Subject Headings
 City Council
Government Agencies
This record last modified June 27, 2016

<< Back